Posted by: Andrea | November 11, 2009

Help!

My book group needs you!  As I mentioned earlier, we’re attempting to breathe some new life into our book group and have invited several new people to our book group this week.  All seem excited and we’re all excited to have new people in the discussion!

The problem?  The book we picked this month SUCKS.

Like seriously, properly, horrifically sucks.  It’s 425 pages and I’ve struggled to get through the first 100 and I can read ANYTHING.  We’ve already heard from two of our new people that they hate it.  I’m afraid if they’re forced to read this they’ll just give up and never come back!

So I’m asking for advice.  We’re going to suggest a different book for this month but I can’t think of one!  Can anyone suggest a book that made for a good read and that also inspired a good discussion?  Any and all suggestions would be welcome.  The fate of our book group is in your hands!


Responses

  1. The Hearts of Horses by Molly Gloss. There are even book club editions available.

    It’s by an Oregon author and set in Eastern Oregon during WWI. It’s definitely a “slice of life” type book and a good read.

    I have other suggestions if you need more ideas.

  2. We just Snow Flower and the Secret Fan for our group. It was a pretty quick read, and everyone really liked it. I love cultural books though, so this might not be up everyone’s alley.

  3. The Stolen Child by Keith Donohue.
    http://www.amazon.com/Stolen-Child-Novel-Keith-Donohue/dp/0385516169

  4. Thanks for all the suggestions you guys! I’ll definitely be keeping them in mind to suggest for the future. A friend of mine had her heart set on Moonshine in the Morning by Andrea McNicoll so that’s what we’ve decided on. You might like that one Shannon, it’s about a group of women in Thailand. Apparently my friend’s mom’s book group loved it.

  5. Have you read ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ or ‘The Kite Runner’ by Khaled Hosseini? Or ‘Big Stone Gap’ by Adriana Trigiana?

    I’m very curious about the name of the terrible, wretched, scare-everybody-away book. That’s how I felt about ‘The Life of Pi’ though many would disagree with me…thankfully, I don’t think Pi was that long.

  6. I’ve read the Khaled Hosseini books but not Big Stone Gap, I’ll have to check that one out! And it’s funny that you didn’t like Pi, I really liked it! But I do think it wouldn’t be for everyone, especially with the weird island. That just made it totally weird and a little bit confusing for me.

    The horrible book was ‘Clara’ by Janice Galloway. I honestly don’t think it’s a TERRIBLE book, just not for us. A few actually liked it, though I think they liked it because it made them feel ‘literary’ for liking a book we all hated for being too difficult. I honestly read A TON and when I’m actively disliking a book and dreading reading it, I know it’s time to put it away, no matter how ‘literary’ it may be. Others may like Clara, but I just couldn’t get into it, as much as I tried to. I think we still have hits and misses with our book choices but at least it’s never boring!

  7. Just finished a book last night that I couldn’t put down: ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Help

  8. I heard that’s really good! It’s on my list of books to check out asap. Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

