Posted by: Andrea | June 18, 2009

Can you shoot hairdressers?

Why why WHY do hairdressers ALWAYS interpret ‘I don’t like short layers in the back of my hair so don’t cut them’ as ‘please cut eight inches difference between the top layer and the bottom’?

Are they addicted to layers?  Obsessed with making my hair resemble an odd bushy animal as soon as it curls?  And NO, in case you were wondering Ms. Haidresser, you did NOT ‘still leave a bunch of long layers’ for me.  GAH.

Oh and yes, I am trying to keep from tearing up a little bit.  This is why I only cut my hair twice a year.  I’ll now be spending the next year growing out this mistake.  *sigh*


Responses

  1. I’m so sorry! Nothing like a bad haircut to make life seem awful!

  2. It’s funny because I got my hair cut last night and I was thinking I didn’t get as much layering as usual and wish I had more. Maybe we should switch hairdressers?

  3. I think it’s the old problem of hairdressers not knowing how to manage curly hair. When I was in the salon, I knew in my gut that those layers were going to be too short, but when she straightened it all out perfectly, it did look good. But as soon as I walked out and the wind hit it, that top layer fluffed up to unbelievable proportions! So the top layers were all fluffy and the bottom stayed straight, which looked AWFUL. But I know that you’ve been trying to get your hair fluffier, so it was probably the perfect haircut for you!🙂

  4. I found a hairdresser shortly after I graduated from college in 1996. He was amazing and because he was perfect in everything he did, I’ve stayed loyal despite moving 50 billions times to several other states and another country. Whenever I’m in town, I make an appointment.

    Of course getting to that point requires fights and tears. My in between visits have been nothing short of nightmares… I’ve NEVER been able to find someone to cut and color my hair that I completely trust. But my first and only rule: gay men only… no women.


Leave a Reply

Categories

