Posted by: Andrea | April 9, 2009

Teeny tiny sydney

When I was little, I loved miniatures.  I have a very distinct memory of going to see the Fairy Castle in Chicago when I was about five and sobbing and crying because I wanted it for my very own but I hadn’t asked Santa for it in time for Christmas.  Of course I completely believed that if I’d had the foresight to ask Santa for the Fairy Castle, he would have given it to me.  Never mind that it was probably bigger than my bedroom and was valued at over a million dollars.  Doesn’t matter, Santa is magic!

I still love miniatures, though I don’t collect them anymore.  So you’ll imagine my delight when I saw this:

This is the work of Ken Loutit, who has been filming Sydney for the past year using a technique called ’tilt-shift filming’ which mimics the look of filming miniatures. It’s like a miniature that comes to life!  Check out the waves on the beach, they are so cool.  I especially love the little helicopter.  (and don’t worry, this was apparently the work of filming a training exercise, not a real drowning.  Nobody was harmed in the making of this film!)

Something I also love? Boats. Even better? Teeny tiny boats!


Leave a Reply

Categories

