Posted by: Andrea | October 7, 2008

The long overdue photos

So yeah, I’ve been falling down on the job around here.  I got back from Chicago over a week ago and I’m JUST NOW getting to posting some pictures.  Can I blame it on the horrible cold and sore throat I got on the plane?  No?  How about my absolutely insane work schedule?  Not so much?

Ok yes, it’s probably just the same old thing that has kept me from posting up until now.  That would be my old friend, laziness.  We are so well acquatined, the two of us!  Don’t worry, I’m working on ending that co-dependant relationship.

So, Chicago!  I had an amazing time.  I met up with my parents, my brother, my cousin AND a good friend from high school!  That must be some sort of record for me.  I’d been to Chicago before (my mom grew up near there) so thankfully didn’t have to do much sight-seeing.  Instead we did a lot of catching up, sleeping in late and EATING.  I had so much steak, I thought I was in heaven.

I stayed at this awesome condo that my grandma’s best friend owns.  That first night of insomnia?  I entertained myself by taking photos out of the windows:

Pretty awesome view, huh?  The rumor is that Oprah owns an entire floor in this building, but I’m not entirely sure I believe that.  She’s got an entire huge mansion just outside Chicago to start with, plus there are LOTS of more luxurious buildings being built every single year in Chicago.  There were four buildings being built within five minutes walking distance of where we were, for example.  Of course, whether or not they’ll finish being built is another story altogether.

The one thing I did do with my parents was go and visit the Millenium Park.  It was neat and I hadn’t been to Chicago since it was built.  It was also the location of ‘the bean.’

I’m not sure what ‘the bean’ is actually called, but it’s pretty awesome.  When you come across it in the middle of the park, it kind of looks like a UFO.  Anyone ever seen The Flight of the Navigator?  I seriously wanted some steps to melt out of it just for me.

Nope, no steps.

We also went to the aquarium.  I tried taking pictures but those fish are just too fast!  Just big blurs in the photos.  The only thing that would stay still for me was the seahorse.  Thankfully they are also the KINGS OF AWESOME.

How adorable is he?  (Or she, I’m not quite sure).  I stood and watched them for at least fifteen minutes without even moving.  Everything else I was like, yeah, ok, fish, whatever… (I like warm blooded sea animals myself – dolphins, whales, otters).  But these guys were mesmerizing.  And this little guy is nothing.

Nope, that’s not a big clump of seaweed, it’s a SEA DRAGON!  This guy was so incredible.  I can’t even put it  into words.

The main reason I was in Chicago was for a good friend’s wedding.  It was held at the new Trump Hotel and was the most amazing wedding I’ve ever been to.  I was totally lame and took a bunch of photos because look at this place!

Everything was GORGEOUS.  I’m usually pretty cynical about weddings, but this one was pretty special.  Everything was white and uplit and exquisite.  Oh, and the food?  Steak and lobster.  That’s right.  Don’t worry, I took pictures!

Ok yeah, so that’s not steak.  But the steak wasn’t as pretty!  Plus I ate it too fast to take a picture.  This was the ‘intermezzo’, which I think was meant to cleanse the palate prior to eating the main course.  I’m not quite sure.  But it was GOOD.  Plus, the spoon was pre-chilled!  I meant to make this all cool and artsy by putting the meal on top of the menu where you could see the ‘Trump’ but I just realised you can’t see the ‘T’ so it just says ‘rump.’  Oops.

Little individual creme brulee!  Too adorable. This was part of the dessert buffet, which was opened up after we were served the real dessert plus wedding cake.  I’ve never eaten so much in my life.

After this there are A LOT of pictures of me taking full advantage of the free bar.  Oy.  At least I learned that even when I’m pretty much as drunk as I’ve ever been in my life, I don’t really look like it in pictures.  Go me!  But don’t worry, I don’t think I fooled anyone who was unfortunate enough to talk to me.  Or be anywhere near me.  Thankfully that was mainly my good friends who were also as drunk as I am and everyone else I’ll never see again!  That’s the great thing about weddings!

Chicago was great and it gave me the much MUCH needed break from work that has pretty much kept me sane.  Work is still crazy but I can still get through each day without cracking up and right now, that’s enough.

Oh, and I got a manicure for the first time in my life.

Those are my fingers at the bottom there.  You know, after turning up my nose at manicures for the majority of my life, the one thing I was thinking as I got mine?  I could definitely get used to this…


Responses

  1. I *heart* manicures.
    I *heart* Chicago.
    I *heart* YOU!

    Move home, already….jeez.🙂

  2. I know, I know, I’m working on it!

    But yeah, I LOVE MANICURES. My fingers have never looked better. God help me, I might be turning into a girl.

  3. Photos are fabulous! Great eye! And manis and pedis are totally the way to go. Every girl needs a little pampering.

  4. Oh I’m a total convert. I would seriously get a manicure every week if my nails were long enough and I didn’t consistently shred them. But now, for every big event, I’m getting a manicure! I kept looking at my fingers and thinking ‘pretty, pretty!’


Leave a Reply

Categories

