Posted by: Andrea | September 24, 2008

The world at 5 a.m.

There’s really not a lot to do when your body wakes up at 5 a.m. and decides, hey, it’s time to get up now!  It’s morning!  No it’s not, you say, it’s in the middle of the night.  No, honestly!  It’s morning!  It feels like morning!  Get up get up get up!

I’ve come to know jetlag well and I’m used to how it’ll hit me when I fly home to the west coast.  But apparently those two hours between west coast time and Chicago time is enough to make my internal clock completely screw up.  I spent about an hour and a half this morning taking lovely pictures out my window of night-time chicago before the sun came up, watching the sun come up, downloading and watching the new episode of True Blood, painting my fingernails, reading a few chapters in my book, unpacking and trying to get my tv to work (it doesn’t).  I was contemplating painting my toenails too when I finally convinced my body to give the whole sleeping thing another go.  I managed to get another hour or so before I woke up again.

I hate jetlag.  But my fingernails sure do look nice!


Responses

  1. Glad you’re state-side again! How’s Chi-town?

  2. It’s great! I LOVE THE SUN. I miss it so much.

  3. I combat jetlag one way. Two beers and the NY Times. Works every time!

  4. Ah, BEER! I’ll have to remember that for next time. It’s got to be better than my solutions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

