Posted by: Andrea | August 25, 2008

Carnival!

One thing that I find really interesting about Glasgow is that there are all these unique little neighbourhoods that are a mile or less than a mile square.  There are hundreds throughout Glasgow and people really shape their identity by these areas.  Near where I live there are around seven, all within walking distance of 10-15 minutes.  The thing that I find so fascinating is that places are completely different and they can only be a few streets away from each other.  When I was looking for a new flat I had to ask a friend of mine to help me out to identify which streets were safe and which ones shouldn’t be walked down after dark.  It’s impossible to tell and they really can differ from street to street.  I sort of love how people are so invested in their neighbourhoods though.  People know everyone around them and there’s a strong sense of support and community.

Yesterday there was a ‘carnival’ in the park down the street from my house.  I wandered over there with a good friend to check it all out.  It was all so adorable, with children and families all together dressed up in costumes.  I’m still not quite sure what the point of it was or where the parade went or ended up.  Apparently there was a big costume making day earlier on and then everybody got together and walked through the park.  Observe:

Some of these costumes were pretty impressive!  This guy scared all the kids:

These were some of my favorites:

But the best part was that it was obviously a chance for families to spend together.  I couldn’t help taking a picture of this little one.  She was so cute!  Though I think she was losing her skirt.

All in all, it was a fun day.  A perfect example of what I love about Glasgow.  Yeah it’s violent at times and can be a little bit nuts, but under it all there’s so much community and liveliness and fun.  I’m not going to live here forever, but I’m so glad I’ve had the opportunity to be here as long as I have.  It’s a great place!

Responses

  1. AGH! How much fun was that??? I truly envy these opportunities for such a multi-cultural life. Take advantage of those as often as possible.

    P.S. LA isn’t so much multi-cultural as it is expensive and full of tourists and spoiled rich people. Although you can find some pretty sweet Korean BBQ in Korea Town.

  2. Yeah it was pretty awesome and just down the street! I love these sorts of random things.

    As much as I’d love some good Korean BBQ, I can definitely do without the spoiled rich people. And tourists can be so annoying sometimes! One good thing about Glasgow, not many tourists come here. They’re all over in Edinburgh at the castle.

  3. I love things like that. The parade at the west end festival is my favourite time of the year.

    It’s free, loads of fun and a time I can get together and catch up with some friends and family.

    Where was this?

  4. I love the west end festival too! Supposedly it started out kind of like this little teeny tiny parade and then just grew into what it is now. Plus you can always get some great food.

    This one was in Queen’s Park in the southside. There wasn’t much on, just the parade and then an evening party at the Glasshouse. They vastly underestimated the amount of people who were going to come though. It was supposed to go until 1am but by 11:15 the bar was serving nothing but shots and the only mixer they had was orange juice. And even then they only had around 6 cartons left (and no ice) when we decided to bail. But they were selling hot dogs outside, so that was a bonus!

  5. Wow, I never knew Glasgow was so culturally diverse. Fascinating!

  6. Well there are sections of it that are very culturally diverse and I live right near one of them. It’s a great opportunity to get to know other cultures that I wouldn’t have a chance to normally. Plus I always think it’s good to experience what it’s like to be the minority every once in awhile. There are certain areas where when I go to do my shopping, I’m definitely one of the minority! But it’s great, I love my neighbourhood.


Leave a Reply

Categories

