Posted by: Andrea | August 22, 2008

It’s music, of course I caved!

So yeah, I have to do this meme too, it’s just too much fun!  Thanks to Dead Charming, 2 Lazy Dogs and countless others for the inspiration.

Unless you don’t know, to do this one you put your ipod (or music player of choice) on shuffle and play the first 20 songs.  Then write down the first four lines.  Then post and make people guess them!

This one turned out truly diabolical because no less than FIVE of my twenty turned out to be covers.  So feel free to guess the original, that’s the only really fair way if it’s just based on lyrics.  And apologies ahead of time, I have a few foreign languages thrown in there too (but one is really really easy).  If it makes any of you feel better, I’m not entirely sure I’d be able to do this without knowing the songs already.

1 . It started off so well
They said we made a perfect pair
I clothed myself in your glory and your love
How I loved you, How I cried

2.  Pain from pearls, hey little girl
How much have you grown?
Pain from pearls, hey little girl
Flowers for the one you’ve known

3.  Well you can bump and grind
If it’s good for your mind
Well you can twist and shout
Let it all hang out

4.  Como sobrevivir?
Como calmar mi sed?
Como sequir sin ti?
Como saltar sin red?

5.  Don’t expect too much from my poor old heart
You can blame the unforgiven for my scars
You might just be the best I can find
But I can’t seem to forget the tears I’ve cried

6.  Is it getting better
Or do you feel the same
Will it make it easier on you now
If you’ve got someone to blame?

7.  Nessun Dorma!  Nessun Dorma!
Tu pure, o principessa,
Nella tua fredda stanza,
Guardi le stele

8.  Now I lay me down to sleep
I just get tangled in the sheets
I swim in sweat three inches deep
I just lay back and claim defeat

9.  When I was seventeen
It was a very good year
It was a very good year for small town girls
And soft summer nights

10.  Well here we are again
I guess it must be fate
We’ve tried it on our own
But deep inside we’ve known

11.  So if you’re lonely
You know I’m here waiting for you
I’m just a crosshair
I’m just a shot away from you

12.  Childhood living is easy to do
The things you wanted I bought them for you
Graceless lady you know who I am
You know I can’t let you slide through my hands

13.  So you sailed away
Into a grey sky morning
Now I’m here to stay
Love can be so boring

14.  I’ve known about you for awhile now
When he leaves me he wears a smile now
As soon as he’s away from me
In your arms is where he hopes to be

15.  O, cam ye here to fight the shun
Or herd the sheep wi’ me, man?
Or were ye at the Sherra-moor
Or did the battle see, man?

16.  Ayer conoci un cielo sin sol
y un hombre sin suelo
Un santo en prision
Y una cancion triste sin dueno

17.  I see you looking at me like I’ve got something that’s for you
And the way that you stare don’t you dare because I’m not about to
Just give it all up to you
Cause there are some things I won’t do

18.  This town is colder now
I think it’s sick of us
It’s time to make our move
I’m shaking off the rust

19. What will be left when I’ve drawn my last breath
Besides the folks I’ve met and the folks that know me?
Will I discover the soul-saving love
Or just the dirt above and below me?

20.  In open fields of wild flowers
She breathes the air and flies away
She thanks her Jesus for the daisies and the roses
In no simple language

Responses

  1. Let’s see here…

    1 – Save Me, Queen
    2 – Kid Fears, Indigo Girls
    5 – My Poor Old Heart, Alison Krauss
    6 – One, U2
    8 – Who Needs Sleep, Bare Naked Ladies
    9 – It Was A Very Good Year, Frank Sinatra
    10 – After All, Peter Cetera & Cher
    12 – Wild Horses, The Rolling Stones
    13 – Best I Ever Had, Vertical Horizon
    20 – Love Song for a Savior, Jars of Clay

    Let me applaud you LOUDLY for having Nessun Dorma (no. 7) from Puccini’s Turandot on your iPod!!! I truly hope it’s Pavarotti’s performance and not Placido Domingo’s…does the the fact that I have both make me sad?

    All of these (except Vertical Horizon) were on my iPod…allowing me to double check before I answered…was that cheating?

    Number 15 is the opening lines from Robert Burn’s “The Battle of Sherramoor” and I have NO idea who would have put that to music and perform it, but I’d hope for the Chieftains or the Corres (sp? Coors, Coores…something like that).

    You are SO GOOD! I never ever thought anyone would get the The Sherramuir Fight and you were really close, it’s by the Corries. They are such an amazing duo, I can’t recommend them enough. This song is just them singing it with a bodhran, a scottish drum, which traditionally was how these sorts of folk songs were sung. They also wrote the Scotland national anthem, ‘Flower of Scotland.’ I find these old folk songs amazing for learning about scottish history.

    You also managed to get four of the five covers I have on my ipod. I have the following versions:
    ‘One’ by Johnny Cash
    ‘It was a very good year’ by Robbie Williams with Frank Sinatra
    ‘Wild Horses’ by The Sundays (from the Buffy The Vampire Slayer soundtrack)
    ‘Best I Ever Had’ by Gary Allan. (I have the Vertical Horizon version too).

    And don’t worry, I have both Nessun Dorma’s too! I adore opera, you just can’t go wrong there.

  2. DAMN YOU, DC!

    You guessed mine!

  3. I have to say lady, it isn’t fair that you live overseas and we’ve never heard of the bands. #15?! Come ON!

  4. Hey, DC got it!

    But yeah, that was kind of unfair… 🙂

    Blame my ipod! It picked them!

  5. Dammit. DC strikes again. He’s good, that one.

    I only new #2, #6 and #9. And I was hoping you’d say that “It was a very good year” was the Robbie Williams version, as I adore him and have been crushing on him for quite some time now.

  6. Robbie Williams is HUGE here, though he hasn’t had an album in a few years. I love his ‘Swing When You’re Winning’ album. He’s definitely crush-worthy, especially when you see him in an interview. He’s just so cheeky, I’ve seen him make several interviewers get completely flustered!

  7. Mr. Williams is not terribly popular in the States. I believe I first saw him on MTV Cribs – where he was showing off his 50 bedroom castle in Sussex. Yeah, his cheekiness and bad-boy-ness got me hooked straight away.

  8. Yeah he’s definitely a character. Did you ever see the concert film he made of his Swing When you’re Winning album? It’s a great concert and he has a bunch of people come and sing with him like Rupert Everett, Jane Horrocks (the woman from Little Voice) and his best friend since childhood, Jonathan Wilkes. Plus you definitely get a very strong sense of his personality on that one! If you haven’t seen it definitely check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

