Posted by: Andrea | March 14, 2008

‘Fuck ye!’

As a follow up to my last post, I had to post this email that was sent around my work right after the attack on Glasgow airport.  Forgive me if you’ve read it already but I loved this email.  Imagine it all in a Glaswegian accent, it’s more fun! 

If this had happened in a US airport, compared to Glasgow: Eyewitness accounts

USA: ‘Oh my God!  There was a man on fire, he was running about.  I just ran for my life.  I thought I was going to die, he was so close to me.’

Glasgow: ‘Bastard was running aboot on fire, so ah ran up n gave him a good boot, then decked him.’

USA: ‘I just wanna get home, away from here.  I just wanna get home, I thought I was gonna die.’

Glasgow: ‘Here, Tam, ahm no leaving here till ahm oan a fuckin’ plane!’

USA: ‘There was pandemonium, people were running in all directions, we didn’t know what was happening.’

Glasgow: ‘Fuck this fir a carry oan.  C’moan, we’ll get a pint in.’

USA: ‘We thought he was gonna blow us all up.  He had a gas canister and was trying to get into his trunk, I thought we were gonna die, I just ran for my life.’

Glasgow: ‘Ah swaggered by the motor that wis on fire, and the dafty couldnae even open his boot, he wis on fire annaw so ah ran up n gave him a good boot in the baws.’

USA: ‘I’m too traumatised to even speak, I thought I was gonna die.’

Glasgow: ‘Here mate, gies two minutes till ah phone ma auld dear, if ahm gonna be oan the telly ah want her tae tape it!’  

Obviously, as an American, I don’t mean this at all as a slight on my fellow people or how they relate to a terrorist act.  I just think this is the perfect example of how Glaswegians take things in their stride and don’t let these things get them down.  Apologies to everyone who couldn’t understand what John Smeaton was saying in the video before.  Again, what’s just why I love him!   If anyone needs translation for the quotes listed above, just ask.  I have experience translating Glaswegian to English for my parents.  (By the ways, ‘baws’ means ‘balls’, just in case you were confused.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

